Machu Picchu & the Galápagos Islands

Epic highlights from Peru’s Incan heartland to Ecuador’s wild isles

  • Combine two South American treasures into one incredible trip: GeoEx handles all the complex logistics
  • Amble past masterful Incan stonework, from Cusco and the Sacred Valley to Machu Picchu
  • Meet marine iguanas, giant tortoises, and more during a thrilling 5-day Galápagos cruise
Galapagos Machu-Picchu Peru Ecuador
Trip Type: Sample Itinerary
Trip Length: 12 Days
Activity type(s): Cultural Tour, Cruises, Day Hiking
Trip Extensions: Ecuador Extensions
Peru Extensions

Boasting four World Heritage Sites, there is no other adventure in our roster of South American ramblings that packs in such a variance of epic highlights. Combining a trip to the Incan heartland of Peru with a weeklong voyage in the Galápagos offers the richest combination of cultural and natural history imaginable.

Upon arrival in the Incan capital of Cusco, the continent’s oldest continuously inhabited city, you’ll tour its ruins and walk its narrow cobblestone streets, flanked by massive walls. Then enjoy a day trip into the Urubamba Valley, taking in the terraced ruins and colorful market of Pisac. Next journey by train to Machu Picchu, where you explore the crown jewel of Incan civilization, never discovered by invading Spaniards. After a good look, you fly to the Galápagos Islands and board a carefully selected, thoughtfully equipped ship. For the next five days, wind among the islands, communing with sea lions, blue-footed boobies, and lava lizards, and gaining insight into ecology and evolution. Watch the sunrise from the bridge, have lunch on the deck after a morning snorkel, and watch bottlenose dolphins frolic in the ship’s wake—all rare experiences and very much a part of the Galápagos’ splendor.


Ask our experts about shorter versions of this trip:
Call 888-570-7108.

Galapagos Islands tour map

Itinerary at a Glance

  • Day 1: arrive in Lima
  • Day 2: Lima to Cusco
  • Day 3: Pisac and other Incan ruins
  • Days 4 & 5: explore Machu Picchu
  • Day 6: fly to Guayaquil
  • Day 7: onward to the Galápagos
  • Days 8–10: cruising the Galápagos
  • Day 11: fly to Guayaquil or Quito
  • Day 12: depart Guayaquil or Quito.